Ashrafi, Garhoud

Late lunch cravings took us to Ashrafi restaurant at a friend’s suggestion. Unfortunately at 4pm they shut one part and reopen again at 7pm. However we were able to be seated in another section and were given the option of having a curtain (makeshift wooden divide) out for us since we were two women in the group.IMG_8318

As I was handed over the menu, I was surprised to see that the restaurant was managed by Karims Delhi (it was a happy surprise). This instantly put me at ease as I found something close to home. Also since my parents are vegetarians they welcomed the fact that they could find a lot of relatable items on the menu that fit the bill.

Get Set Gobble:

We were served fried papads as we waited for our order to arrive. I simply loved them! They also served us a plate of salad having sliced cucumbers, onions and lemon wedges.

The first item that caught my eye on the menu was the Samosa. Even though I hadn’t even been a day away from home, I was tempted to try it. They had two options, one with a potato filling and one with vegetables. I went for the potato one and it was quite good. The filling was not spicy (some might say it was bland) and reminded me of the Kolkata singhara fillings. IMG_8322

Next we had the Chicken biryani. It looked beautiful and smelled amazing and the portion size was good. The rice was light and fragrant and was topped with dry fruits (cashews and raisins) giving it a bit of welcome sweetness and crunch. Also worth a mention is that fact that there were 3 huge pieces of spicy marinated chicken in one serving..now isn’t that great (frankly I was expecting just 2 decently sized pieces considering what I’m used to back home). It was served with a raita and I found the consistency of the curd good (thick without any water added) and it had a balanced sweetness.

Since tandoor options were out from 4-7pm, we ordered the Channa masala and paranthas. The channa were well flavoured (it wasn’t the preparation we are used to eating in North India but tasted good). along with this we had the Paranthas which turned out to be leach paranthas made from maida (somewhat similar to the Malabar Parantha)…I quite like this style of preparation.

Overall it was a satisfying meal. The prices are quite reasonable and portion size is decent.

Go for:

Quick service. Easy on the pocket meals.

Ashrafi Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

